Five Professors in final race for Lagos State University VC

Five professors are in the final race to succeed Prof. Olanrewaju Fagbohun SAN as the ninth substantive Vice Chancellor of the Lagos State University, LASU, Ojo.

The contenders are Prof. Olumuyiwa Odusanya, Prof. Senapon Bakre, Prof. Kabir Akinyemi, Prof Ibiyemi Olatunji- Bello and Prof. Muyiwa Awofolu.

Olatunji-Bello and Odusanya are from the College of Medicine, Bakre and Akinyemi are from the Faculty of Science, while Awofolu is from the Namibian University of Science and Technology.

They are expected to face the final screening exercise this week before three are recommended to the Visitor, Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu, to make a choice from.

The tenure of Fagbohun is coming to an end on January 11, 2021. The front runners are Olatunji-Bello and Odusanya.

This is the third time Olatunji-Bello would attempt to become the VC of the institution and has served in many capacities including Deputy Vice Chancellor, Academics and later as Acting Vice Chancellor.

Odusanya on his part is the Director of Research and Innovation and has organised two research fairs during the administration of Fagbohun.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *