Super Eagles and Napoli striker Victor Osimhen as well as Super Falcons forward Asisat Oshoala bagged player of the year awards for both male and female categories at the 2023 CAF Awards held in Palais des Congrès in Marrakech, Morocco on Monday.

This would be on records as it is the first time a country will produce winners of both awards.

Osimhen was named the winner of the CAF Player of The Year Award, becoming the first Nigerian to win the award since Nwankwo Kanu in 1999.

Oshoala on the other hand claimed a record-extending sixth Women’s Player of The Year as the most successful women’s player in Africa.

Also, Super Falcons goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie won the women’s Goalkeeper of The Year, whie the Super Falcons were also named the Women’s Team of The Year.

However, it was a little upset for Nigerians who had high hopes on Super Falcons Deborah Abiodun who lost the Women’s Young Player of The Year award to Morocco and Lille defender Nesryne El Chad. Metz and Sengela’s Lamine Camara won the men’s category.

Moreso, the honours were decided based on votes by media representatives, coaches and captains of national teams.

After reclaiming the CAF Women’s Champions League for their second title in the three years of the competition, Mamelodi Sundowns were named the Women’s Club of The Year, while Al Ahly also won the men’s category as a reward for winning a record-extending 11th CAF Champions League title in June.

Super Falcons captain, Onome Ebi, presented the Inter Club Player of The Year award to AS FAR’s Fatima Tagnaut.The tension in the room was eased with a performance by Uganda sensational dancers, Ghetto Kids, but the pressure soon returned with the announcement of Nigeria as the Women’s National Team of The Year, ahead of WAFCON winners South Africa and Morocco.

The award was not unconnected to the Super Falcons sensational run at the last FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

The room became more lively as Morocco was also named the winners of the men’s National Team of The Year for being the first African team to reach the semi-finals of the FIFA World Cup at the last edition in Qatar 2022.Al Ahly’s Mahmoud Abdelmenem’s goal against Al Hilal was voted by the fans as the Goal of The Year.Super Falcons goalkeeping legend Precious Dede handed the Goalkeeper of The Year (Women) award to Falcons and Paris FC safe hands Chiamaka Nnadozie. She won ahead of Morocco’s Khadija Er-Rmichi and South Africa’s Andile Dlamini. Morocco’s Yassine Bounou won the men’s category for his exploits with Morocco at the last World Cup as well as his club Sevilla.

But surprisingly, Nnadozie was not among CAF’s Women’s XI as three Super Falcons players — Michelle Alozie, Osinachi Ohale and Asisat Oshoala — made the team. In the men’s team, Victor Osimehn, the only Nigerian, joined Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane in a three-man attack.

South Africa’s women’s national team coach Desiree Ellis retained her title as the women’s Coach of The Year while Walid Regragui, who led Morocco to the semi-finals at the 2022 World Cup in Qatar won the men’s category.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *