The All Progressives Congress chapter in Edo State has praised the national leadership for choosing to hold another round of the state’s turbulent gubernatorial election.

The party was prepared for today’s (Thursday) rerun, according to APC Publicity Secretary in Edo State Peter Uwadiae, who also mentioned that the state executive would provide more remarks following the exercise.Overseed by Hope Uzodimma, the governor of Imo State, last Saturday’s primary yielded three “winners” and caused disarray within the party.

Dennis Idahosa was declared the winner by Uzodimma, and Monday Okpebholo was also declared the winner by Stanley Ugboaja, the returning officer.

Anamero Dekeri was declared the election winner elsewhere by Ojo Babatunde, who claimed to be speaking on behalf of the returning officers in each local government.

Late Tuesday, the national leadership of the APC in Abuja declared the Saturday’s primary inconclusive.Thursday is the new date for the Edo State governorship primary, according to a follow-up statement released on Wednesday by Sulaiman Argungu, the APC National Organising Secretary.

Argungu additionally declared that Bassey Otu, the governor of Cross River State, had taken Uzodimma’s place as the head of the committee overseeing primary elections.

The group, which includes Otu as chairperson, Nentanwe Goshwe, the APC’s candidate for governor of Plateau State in 2023, Rabiu Suleiman, Umar Musa, Lawan Garba, and former deputy governor of Osun State, Mrs. Titilayo Laoye-Tomori.A few hours after Uzodimma was given a vote of no confidence by four prominent Edo State gubernatorial candidates, the changes took place.

Concurrently, today will see the holding of the Edo State gubernatorial primary by the governing Peoples Democratic Party.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *